Altrincham School Win Pop Lacrosse Championship

June 27, 2012 8:13 am

Altrincham lacrosseThe 2012 Pop Lacrosse Championship was brought home to Altrincham by Altrincham C of E Primary School, this is the first time ever the school has won this tournament.

The Pop Lacrosse Championships had been played over gruelling rounds and the final rounds took Altrincham C of E school down to the University of Hertfordshire where they beat last years winners, William Ranson School 8-6.

The region was well represented as Bowdon School also made it to the final rounds and both teams had coaching and support from Timperley Lacrosse club leading p the the championship. The journey that had already seen the team battle through three regional qualifying rounds to even get to the finals, ended in glory with a truly gutsy win at the University of Hertfordshire.

Altrincham C of E Primary School had modest expectations of the day and were proud to make it through to the quarter finals, but as the day went on the team seemed unstoppable with exciting matches against Heathbrook School and Sunninghill School.

The final battle against defending champions, William Ransom School, was the most exciting match of the day as both teams fought for goals, both conceding, but Altrincham C of E managed to gain an early advantage in the first few seconds and minutes which William Ranson couldn’t quite  catch up to. The final score was 8 -6 to Altrincham C of E Primary school and a historic moment for the school and team as they brought home the championship for the first time ever.

altrincham ce primary lacrosseThe team, school and parents have expressed their thanks to Di Gill and Pat Acone who coached the children every week at the school for the past few months and had tremendous support from Miss Gregory and Miss Boughen who travelled down to Hertfordshire this weekend. However, the biggest congratulations has to go to the players who worked hard to become the best pop Lacrosse players in the UK making Altrincham and Trafford proud. Well done to Ben Grime, Josie Canham, Sam Penner-Moran, Marius Robinson, Charlotte Lowe, Hannah Henin, Harriet Leah and Ed Loveland .


Write a comment

Your Comment